Post-Punk.com premieres the new music video for track “Kick Out the Damned” by Polish band Izzy and the Black Trees

today29/09/2022 48


Izzy and the Black Trees announce the post-pandemic punk upheaval in their second album “Revolution Comes in Waves”. This time they joined forces with the renowned Polish producer Marcin Bors, together with, tucked away in a wooden house in the mountains they crafted noisy hymns which reflect the social and political reality not only in their home country but also in the U.S. and Eastern Europe.

From a quiet university city in Western Poland, Izzy and the Black Trees bring raw punk energy backed up by noisy psych guitar riffs, strong beat and feisty melodies. You can feel the aura of Patti Smith, Debbie Harry or PJ Harvey around Izzy’s songwriting and her musical deliverance. Supported by her three partners in crime, Izzy and the Black Trees invite you on a poetic rebel freeride you’ve been long waiting for.

Founded in 2018 by the singer and band leader Izabela Izzy Rekowska who spent some time in London working-up her songwriting skills prior to forming the four-piece. In autumn 2019, the rock’n’roll infused single Picasso’s Octopuss revealed a bold, psych fuzz ridden sound which is present throughout the debut album “Trust No One” – released by the legendary Polish indie label Antena Krzyku in April 2020. The title song of the album was featured by Steve Lamacq in BBC 6 Music Recommends radio show.

In January 2021 the band released a single called “The Station” featuring an English songwriter living in Poland Kev Fox. Also around that time, in the middle of the pandemic, Izzy & TBT started to work on their second album.

Their live shows are full of feminine, punk and rock’n’roll energy. Izzy & TBT played shows at Westway LAB (PT), Spring Break (PL), TakBrzmiMiasto (PL) showcase festivals. Toured clubs and festivals in Poland such as Jarocin, Malta Festival and Inne Brzmienia (Different Sounds). The band also has a home in Berlin as a regular guest at the Schokoladen Club in Mitte.


01 I Can’t Breathe
02 Liberate
03 Devil on the Run
04 National Tragedy
05 Break Into My Body
06 Petty Crimes
07 Visions
08 Kick Out the Damned
09 Love’s in Crisis
10 Candy

Written by: p@x